CHAPTER I: THE PRESBYTERY

Section 1 The Bylaws set forth herein are the provisions for the governance and operation of the Council called Muskingum Valley Presbytery (hereafter "Presbytery"), a member presbytery of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), a Reformed denomination.

Section 2 The Presbytery is a non-profit corporation that is organized and existing under the laws of the State of Ohio and exercises ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the PC(USA) congregations in Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Harrison, Holmes, Guernsey, Southern Medina, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Richland, Stark, Tuscarawas, Washington, and Wayne counties.

Section 3 The Presbytery is an organization formed exclusively for religious purposes within the meaning of Section 501(c)(3) of the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (as amended) and shall be operated exclusively for the religious purposes set forth in the Presbytery's Articles of Incorporation.

Section 4 These Bylaws shall at all times be subject to the provisions of the Bible and the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). Applicable provisions in the Constitution shall take priority over any provision in these Bylaws. These Bylaws are also subject to the Ohio Revised Code and the Articles of Incorporation of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) on file with the Secretary of State.

Motion to replace Chapter 1: The Presbytery - Section 2 with the proposed following wording:

Rationale for the change – After an Office of General Assembly study of maps within all of the Presbyteries in the Synod of the Covenant it was found that our geographical boundaries were off as stated in our current bylaws.

Section 2. The Presbytery is a non-profit corporation that is organized and existing under the laws of the State of Ohio and exercises ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the PC (USA) congregations as follows:

The geographic district of the Presbytery of Muskingum Valley consists of the counties of Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana (the townships of Franklin and Hanover), Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison (the townships of Franklin, Freeport, Monroe, Morefield, Nottingham, and Washington), Holmes, Medina (the townships of Canaan, Guilford, Rittman City, and Seville Village), Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Richland (excluding the township of Sharon), Stark, Tuscarawas, Wayne, and Washington (excluding the township of Grandview), all in the state of Ohio.